What types of workplace discrimination are prohibited by law? What types are not?

Federal and New York State and New York City law prohibits discrimination on numerous basis including age, race, national origin, sexual identification,
disability, and being a caregiver status. Under Federal, State, and New York City law discrimination only exists if the discriminatory acts are because of a protected status. So if the employers targeting you for a particular reason but it’s unrelated to you being a member of a protected status then it’s not considered discrimination. For example, if your employer is just targeting you because the employer does not like you, that is not discrimination.

Posted in: Discrimination

Get The Help You Deserve
Contact Our Office Today

Contact Us

New York City Office

420 Lexington Avenue
Suite 1830
New York, NY 10170-1830

Call Our Office